Sewing Projects!! Opening Ports Saga May be At An End!

After many failed prototypes of screens for our irregular bronze ports I finally moved to the dark side… Velcro!! Here is the template to the six small ports. The screen affixes to the inside bronze trim and does not interfere with the seal as the no -see-um screen is very fine.


Fail!! The trim I tried to use to support the screen on this prototype with cutting board plastic. Would not give me a good perfect seal, which you need in no-see-um country.


I tried to wrap canvas around the plastic prototype frame to fill in the gaps I was getting but no joy.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Template making. I mounted the cutting board to our ports, the missing frame originally was mounted using tiny bronze bolts( top, bottom and sides). I used a awl to punch out the bolt holes. I then traced as accurate of an outline as I could. It was pretty nice and would of worked had the plastic been a little stiffer maybe?

 

 

 

I also tried a bootie prototype screen that fits around the outside lip of the bronze port( using flat and round bungee). That’s three hours of my life I’ll never get back πŸ™‚

 

So velcro it is. Template for our four large opening ports


Added basting tape to the soft velcro( loops)


After affixing The Velcro I sewed them to the screens.


Not as ugly as I feared and a nice tight seal, no gaps, no bugs!

 

I also made screens for our hatches to replace our current screens which drape over the hatch.


Little trick I stumbled into while searching for Velcro at a hardware store, this Velcro is marketed for plant ties. It is much weaker then the industrial stuff I affixed to the cabin top of the boat. I used the weaker Velcro on the part of the screen that we remove. This is less wear and tear on the Velcro that is glued to the ceiling. So far so great!


Here is the weaker Velcro. It is double sided, hook/loop. It is also made to be outdoors so maybe it will last as long as the screen..? Oh, and it was $3.98 for 45 feet so not a bad price.


Made a drop board pouch. It has four pockets inside. *Mom, do you recognize the canvas? πŸ™‚

 

Sheet bags for the jib. They are midship to get some of the clutter out of the cockpit

 

Snubber storage at the bow. I used scrap webbing, velcro and canvas so it looks a little unpolished :-).

 

Also spliced another double eye dyneema line to use for mooring line and snubber. It’s a long taper, the taper is 72 x the diameter of the line(1/4″). I then stitched the throat and about 4-5″ down the taper.  I will add 35 feet of stretchy three strand or braid along with a rubber shock absorbing snubber to help compensate for the complete lack of stretch in the dyneema. The dyneema has excellent chafe resistance and is unbelievably strong. Strong line is easy, chafe resistance, well that is worth it’s weight in gold!

 
 

Beautiful job? Eh, no. The blue part of this rigging tape was supposed to be peeled off before wrapping the splice. I like to wrap the splice to protect the stitching from UV. I stitched with dyneema braid fishing line.

 

 Next  projects are on hold until we finish with our latest project..finding a dinghy with outboard that is electric start! We will probable go with a new set up since it is hard to find exactly what we want. Which is, 9-10.5 feet rib hypalon with 8-15 hp electric start.

 

3 thoughts on “Sewing Projects!! Opening Ports Saga May be At An End!

  1. I like those bags you made. Good idea to get the lines out of the cockpit. I could store dock lines in them too.

    I think I’ll steal your idea and do the same. Thanks for the idea. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Rhapsody, I love the bags too, very easy to make. Brian has requested more. I’m making all docking and anchoring bags navy and all sailing related bags tan :-).
      Hope all is well.
      Erika

  2. The worst no-see-ums we encountered were in Roatan, Honduras. The very best repellant we found was plain old Avon Skin So Soft. Chokes them so they leave to find easier pickin’s…… or donors. Ken

Leave a Reply

